This Week’s Tip: Secondhand Bed Sheets as Fabric

What was an old bed sheet is now my new apron.

This past weekend was filled with sewing, and I loved every minute of it, despite hitting a pin while sewing causing the needle to break and go flying at me. I still haven’t found it.. Anywho!

Friday, my friend Eileen and I went fabric hunting. We ended up at Value Village, you may know it as Savers in your area, but any thrift store will work. I found this adorable flat twin sized bed sheet, (I like buying twin sized sheets, they’re usually cleaner and in more fun patterns) but, it was $10 and a little too pricey for me. So we kept looking and we found the matching sheet, but it was fitted and a few bucks less. In my mind a fitted bed sheet is better than a flat one because with a seam-ripper, I got bonus elastic. Win-win, yes?

It took me about an hour or so to seam-rip the elastic out of the sheet, I started that night and I was dead tired, it could have gone a lot faster. I ended up with about 7ft of elastic. How’s that for thrifty?

I know a second-hand bed sheet may seem a little.. unsavory, but take it home, wash it up, then work with it. You won’t regret it!

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

