Make-it Monday: Beaded Rosary Earrings

You may have noticed by now, but I’m not a specific crafter, meaning I’m a Jill of all trades. I knit on straight needles, I knit in the round, I can knit cables, I crocheted once or twice, I bead, though not usually with seed beads, I sew, I glue, I paint and I upcycle. I do it all, baby! And I’d like to think I’m fairly good at it. This week I’ll be showing you how to make a rosary-style earrings.

What you’ll need:

  • Eye Pins (find them here)
  • Beads
  • Round Nose Jewelry Pliers
  • Flat Nose Pliers
  • Wire Cutters
  • Earring Findings (find them here)
  • Bead Board, not necessary, but handy.

Figure out what order you want your beads to be in, put one on an eye pin, if you have longer eye pins like I do, you’ll need to cut it down. Use the flat pliers to hold the pin while you cut with the wire cutters. BE WARNED: The metal piece you cut off can go flying, BE CAREFUL!! Safe crafting is happy crafting

Using the needle-nose pliers, put the end of the eye pin, where you just cut, towards the base of the pliers and start curling.

Before you finish your loop, put the next eye pin on and tighten the loop with the thinner part of the pliers. Make sure the end of the pin meets the the part of the pin near the bead, hard to describe, but just make sure it makes a circle/loop. You’ll understand when you make it. Haha! (I’ll try to firgure out how to re-word this and make it easier to understand! Bear with me!)

Repeat the process again, as long as you want. Instead of another eye pin, use an earring hook to finish the earring or you can continue it to make an actual rosary as a gift or for a friend.

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Make-it Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

