Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies+Perfect Parchment Review

A few months back, I signed up to be a product tester for The Smart Baker. A few days ago, I got my Perfect Parchment in the mail. I was SO excited to use it, but I restrained myself and waited for my nephew, and assistant baker, to come over and help me. We made chocolate chip cookies (and a mess).

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1 cup Shortening
  • 1 cup Granulated Sugar
  • 2 cups Brown Sugar
  • 4 1/2 cups AP Flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 cups Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup Chopped Pecans (optional)

This recipe can EASILY be cut in half. I do recommend doing so unless you have a bake sale coming up.

Cookie Dough!

Cream the butter, shortening and sugars together, or grab your kids, have them wash their hands and arms, put on an apron and have them start squishing. I think the hands-on approach is best, especially if your butter is cold. The heat from their hands softens the butter, see? Kids have fun and it helps the baking process. Win-win.

Clean up is a breeze when you use your hands to mix!

Add the flour 1/2 cup at a time. After the flour is mixed in, add the other ingredients one at a time, mixing thoroughly.

Dose out your dough, and good thing about using parchment paper, you can dose it all out at once, then just change out the sheets on the pan!

Line a baking sheet with parchment, I suggest using The Smart Baker‘s Perfect Parchment.

Perfect Parchment's second trip in the oven, no sticking, no burning of the paper. Awesome!

It can survive more than one trip in the oven without burning or browning, and it fits most cookie sheets.

Only draw back, the larger sheets are only for rectangle shaped baking pans..

Bake at 350 degrees F for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown color and enjoy with your favorite milk, whether it be lactose-free, soy or good ol’ 2%.

Perfect Parchment will be a regular in my kitchen. But there are a few things I’m wondering about it. The package says it’s biodegradable, how long does it take to break down? And also, how high of a temperature can it go up to? Other than that, I highly recommend picking some up at http://www.thesmartbaker.com

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Product reviews, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

