Tip of the week: How to find craft supplies at the dollar store

I used these for my Topiary. Similar sized styrofoam balls from Joans would have cost way more and I can use one pack for 2 topiaries.

When you go to a dollar store, you expect to find a bunch of junk, right? Wrong! Think of these as craft supplies. Just last week, for my Flower Topiary, I used a few dollar store items to make something awesome. Let’s see how you can use the dollar store to your crafty advantage.

First, before you even get into the store, make a list of the things that you want to make and write down the supplies, parts and items you’ll need. We’ll use my topiary as an example: I needed a flower pot, something to hold the dowel steady in the pot, some flower pot filler (rocks) and something to form the flower spheres. I found all of this at the dollar store. The topiary cost me a whole $4 +tax to make. I had the dowels left over from a previous project and the flowers were from my (future) Mother-in-law; she was just going to throw them out, and look what they turned into! I had a list when I went in, and thought outside the box.

8 Pack of styrofoam balls Multiple sizes, $1. Compare to Joann's 12 pack of 2" styrofoam balls for $4.99

When you get to the store, you should walk around the store. Make a lap or two, look at the shapes and functionality of things. Sure, you may pass the toy section and not even think that you could turn a 4-pack of whiffle balls into a topiary, but you never know!

Once you’ve done your lap and got your creative mind powered on, you can put a few things in the basket, but only things that you need for your project.

Before you check out, go through your basket and ask yourself, “Do I really need this?” Make your final selections and check out!

Dollar Tree is a wonderful resource AND you can order from them online. How cool, right?

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

