Make-it Monday: DIY Screen Printing w/ Mod Podge

Ever since I saw the infomercial for the Yudu, I’ve been dreaming about it. It’s been over a year, still no Yudu, but I’ve learned how to make my own screen prints without one. Take that, ProvoCraft! …Who am I kidding? I’d still LOVE to own a Yudu!! *swoon!*<3

What You’ll Need:

  • Embroidery hoop
  • Organza, or any other mesh material
  • Mod Podge
  • Paint Brush
  • Fabric Paint (I used Tulip)
  • Picture you’d like to screen print. Simple designs work best!
  • T-Shirt or any other medium you would like to print on.

For material, I used a kids beach sarong I found at a thrift store ($1.99) Print the image you would like to use and size it to fit your hoop. (I used Irfanview, it’s free and pretty simple to use)

Step 2

Set the fabric on the inner hoop and tape your image to the back. Trace the image onto your fabric, I, however, didn’t, Can’t remember why.. xD

Step 3

Paint with the Mod Podge in the negative space. This takes forever to dry, you can use a hair dryer to help speed it up. It’s ok if it looks a little wonky, or you’ve painted too much Mod Podge on, you can touch up with your fabric paint after you’ve printed.

Step 4

Place the screen where you would like to print on your garment, I used a onesie. Place a piece of cardboard inside the onesie to prevent bleeding. I used cardboard from a 12 pack of soda. Then using another small piece of cardboard pull the paint over the design. Remove the screen and do whatever touch ups you need.

Step 5

Wait for the paint to dry according to the instructions on the bottle, this cannot be sped up.

Step 6

Cover your design with a piece of paper from a grocery bag and iron on medium for 3-5 mins to heat set the image. and you’re done!! Wash according to the instructions on the fabric paint bottle, (mine says wash garment inside out after 72 hours of applying the fabric paint)

Here are some of the onesies I made (And my dog, Cassie, just needed to be in the picture!)

Before you commit to this project, please note that simple designs work best. It’s hard to get details, but you can manage. Like this version that was created using this how-to that I originally posted on Cut Out and Keep.

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Make-it Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make-it Monday: DIY Screen Printing w/ Mod Podge

  1. Love it!! This is a great tutorial! I did some modge podge myself this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

