Make-it Monday: Fabric Yo-Yos

I’ve decided to be more adventurous with fabrics. Rather than just sewing patterns, I’d like to do more with it. Fabric flowers have always held a special place in my mind. Something so beautiful looking, but it seems so hard to make! I’ll be teaching you how to make several kinds of flowers and embellishments, this week, I’ll show you how to make a fabric yo-yos. They’re super easy to make, you can use your scraps (and I’m all about getting your money’s worth out of your fabric!) and they’re really cute!

What you’ll need:

  • Fabric scraps
  • Scissors
  • Needle and Thread, I used a cotton cord type thread
  • A round object, like a lid or a bowl, to trace
  • A pen, fabric pencil or something to trace the lid or bowl

Lay your fabric out. Determine how many circles you can get out of that scrap and trace around whatever you’re using to trace a circle. I’m using a container of pre-mixed grout. (I had it around from a previous project.) If you want, you may iron your fabric. (I didn’t because I figured it was just going to get scrunched up anyways. =3)

Cut out your circle. I love this fabric! I got it at Joann’s as a remnant and used it to make a Boppy cover for my niece to make it a bit more girlie. She was using her older brother’s Boppy and it had a blue cover, and I felt ambitious. It turned out awesome!

Using a straight stitch, fold a 1/4th inch of the fabric over and sew along the edge. You’ll have to sew small sections at a time to keep the circle shape. It’s almost like sewing an octogon.

After you’ve stitched all the way around, use your thread as a drawstring. As you pull, you’ll see a pouch form. Then tie it off and cut the thread tails.

Flatten it out, and you’re done!

Yo-yo’s can be used in a variety of ways. You can sew a button into the center and put it on a barrette or head band, sew a bunch of them together to make a blanket, use them to adorn pillows and clothing and purses. Plus, they’re a great way to use up your scraps! And if you’re like me, you’ve got a stash of scraps because there’s “just gotta be something I can do with them!”

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Make-it Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make-it Monday: Fabric Yo-Yos

  1. Frances says:

    I make these and attach to my handwritten notes that say “thanks a bunch!” customers love it:)

Leave a Reply

