Make-it Monday: Marbled Crayons

Today on Make-It Monday: Marbled Crayons!

Welcome to Make-it Monday! Thank you for joining me on my adventure in crafting! Now, I’ve been a crafter for years and I’ve always had some sort of project on my mind and I’ve come to the conclusion that I must share my creativity with the masses! On to our first project!

Marbled Crayons

If you have a little artist in the house, I’m sure you have a lot of broken crayons. Now, I’m not a mother, but I have a 5-year-old nephew who doesn’t quite understand how fragile crayons can be and once they break he won’t have anything to do with them! I try to tell him that it’s fine, and he can keep using them, but he just refuses. Then, I found a tutorial by Cat Morley on how to take those broken crayons and turn them into something new.

What you’ll need:

  • Broken crayons
  • Oven
  • Mini muffin, ice cube tray or other shaped silicone mold. If you use a metal tin here, it may be harder to get the new crayons out.

If you’re using a standard oven, preheat it to 300 F, I’m using a toaster oven because the light in my oven is out and this way I can watch them. Honestly, I dragged a chair into the kitchen and watched them like the most riveting chess tournament human kind has ever seen. I was that paranoid about burning them!

Gather your crayons and take off any paper that there may be left on it, break them into smaller pieces and then fit them into the mold. I could fit about 3-4 whole crayons per cup.

Pop your mold filled crayons into the oven once it’s preheated and bake for 3-4 mins. Do not take your eye off of them because you don’t want them to burn. If they don’t melt evenly, that’s okay! Just take the pan out, let it cool for a bit and try it again!

Once they’re cooled and hardened completely, about 20-30 minutes later, they should release for the mold quite easily. If you use a silicone mold it’ll be that much easier. If you used a metal mold or mini cupcake tin, it should take a little encouragement to get them out. 🙂

Enjoy your new crayons!

Now, you could cut them up into little pieces and melt them down in a cupcake or muffin tin, or you could use a loaf pan and wrap the crayons in foil to make a rainbow pattern, as show here in the original tutorial, as well.

I hope you enjoy making your crayons as much as I did. And if you make a mistake, let it be a lesson, and besides, you can always fix it! 😀
EDIT: You *CAN* use the silicone mold in the oven, but only if they’re oven safe!

About Contessa Crafts

I'm Stephanie, the Contessa of Contessa Crafts. I have a wealth of crafting knowledge and ideas that needs to be shared. Let your creativity show!
This entry was posted in Make-it Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make-it Monday: Marbled Crayons

  1. Great way to keep kids busy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

